Music Monday – The Fall

Over the weekend I discovered one of my new favorite songs: “Totally Wired” by The Fall. This song came out in the 1980’s, well before I was born, but I heard it covered both on Thursday and Friday by one of my favorite bands, The Last Shadow Puppets (read my “review” here), and I haven’t been able to get it out of my head since.

I had heard before the shows that they were throwing in a couple covers each night and was excited, but thought I would have preferred that they would play more of their own songs instead, but both nights it was insane. Miles Kane nailed the vocal delivery, the bass line was smooth, energy was high, and during the show on Friday a wrestling championship belt was brought out to make it just that much cooler.

The song itself is fast and disorienting, which pairs perfectly with the lyrics and the idea of “speeding” and the effects of taking drugs that are uppers. The song also conveys the idea that “speed” can take other, legal forms such as “a jar of coffee.” It also deals with the notion of one’s own natural sources of anxiety, feelings of nervousness, and butterflies in one’s stomach. This song is strange and energetic, and will surely stick in your head, even if it seems a bit off-putting at first listen. It definitely left me feeling a little wired.

You don’t have to be weird to be wired
You don’t have to be an American brand
You don’t have to be strange to be strange
You don’t have to be weird to be weird

Listen to “Totally Wired” by The Fall on Spotify here.
Watch “Totally Wired” performed by The Last Shadow Puppets at T in the Park here.

One thought on “Music Monday – The Fall

Leave a Reply

